cyber journalism


The Cyber Journalism Award recognizes excellence in reporting on cyber security across all journalistic categories. 


The 2020 competition covers journalistic work published on September 1, 2019 through August 31, 2020. The award is open to journalists doing work for independent news organizations around the globe. Entries must be readily accessible to the public and originally published in one of the following formats: Print (newspaper or magazine), Online publication, Radio broadcast or Podcast, or Television broadcast. 

This competition accepts both nominations from individuals interested in the cybersecurity industry as well as entry submissions from authors, creators, and producers of the entry.

The judging process will consider accuracy, initiative, originality, clarity of interpretation, and value in fostering a better public understanding of cyber security.  Judging has two rounds. 

Round 1: Faculty and researchers from the NYU Center for Cybersecurity will vote to determine finalists from the initial pool of nominations and entries.


Round 2: A winner will then be determined from a committee of Final judges, a mix of faculty and industry professionals.  

competition timeline

Competition Details & Submission Phase Opens:

3 June 2020

Submission & Nomination Deadline:

6 September 2020, 11:59 pm ET

Winner Notification:

7 October 2020 

Virtual Award Ceremony Honoring 2020 recipient:

5 - 7 November 2020 (exact day and time, TBD)

participating regions

nominate an entry

This option is open to anyone who wishes to nominate a cybersecurity-related journalistic piece. Nominations that meet eligibility requirements will be considered for Round 1 and Round 2 judging.


submit an entry

This option is for authors, creators, and produces. Please review the Rules & Submission Guidelines below before submitting. 

Rules & Submission Guidelines

CyJo Rules Image.png

2018 winner

Jen Wieczner is a senior writer at Fortune and co-founding editor of The Ledger, covering the intersection of finance and technology. Her recent writing includes an award-winning investigation into Paul Singer's activist hedge fund Elliott Management; a cover story on the Bitcoin bubble; and profiles of controversial business titans—from billionaire Steve Cohen to Mylan CEO Heather Bresch to former HP chief Meg Whitman. She has also been published in The Wall Street Journal, Time, Fast Company, The Atlantic, New York and Glamour. Born in Boston, Jen earned a bachelor’s degree from Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism.

Mt. Gox Cover for 2018 CyJo Award.png

Mt. Gox and the Surprising Redemption of Bitcoin’s Biggest Villain


April 19, 2018, Fortune magazine


2017 winner

Andy Greenberg is a senior writer for WIRED, covering security, privacy, information freedom,
and hacker culture. He’s the author of the book Sandworm: A New Era of Cyberwar and the Hunt for the Kremlin's Most Dangerous Hackers. Greenberg's reporting on Ukraine's cyberwar (including an excerpt from Sandworm) has won a Gerald Loeb Award for International Reporting and two Deadline Club Awards from the New York Society of Professional Journalists. Before coming to WIRED Greenberg worked as a senior reporter for Forbes magazine. He works in WIRED's New York office.


Lights Out: How An Entire Nation Became Russia's Test Lab
for Cyberwar

October 13, 2017, Wired magazine

© 2020 by NYU Tandon School of Engineering CSAW