CSAW22_Logo_WHITE_COLOR.png

(2021) global conference agenda

CSAW '22 Conference Agenda Coming Soon!

Wednesday, 10 November 2021

First time listed is Eastern Standard Time (New York City) , followed by Central European Time (CET), Gulf Standard Time (GST), and India Standard Time (IST) 

12:00 am EST, 6:00 CET, 9:00 GST, 10:30 IST
_________________________________

All Day
Lobby & Industry Fair Room | Industry Fair 
Visit sponsor & partner booths to learn about jobs, internships, programs, and services. A schedule of when representatives will be available is here

Siemens Technology
DTCC
iC Consult
SecurityScorecard
Facebook
Carnegie Mellon University Information Network Institute
Amazon Web Services
Trail of Bits
Vector 35, makers of Binary Ninja
Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA)
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
RangeForce
F-Secure
Kroll LLC
SimSpace Corporation
Microsoft (Detection and Response Team)
_____________________________________

All Day 
Poster Room 1 | Research Poster Previews
Visit research competition posters on your own schedule. 
_____________________________________

3:00 - 5:30 am EST, 9:00 - 11:30 CET, 12:00 - 14:30 GST, 13:30 - 15:00 IST 
Room A | Europe Applied Research Competition Presentations & Judge Q&A
Presentations from the finalist authors and judge Q&A. Open to all CSAW attendees. Access note: once you enter Room A, take a seat, and click "x" to join the Zoom Webinar session as an attendee. 
_____________________________________

9:00 am - 12:00 pm EST, 15:00 -  18:00 CET, 18:00 - 21:00 GST, 19:30 - 22:30 IST
Off Platform Semifinal Policy Competition Presentations
Closed presentations from the 10 semifinalist teams and judge Q&A. Finalists will be announced by 8:00 pm. 
_____________________________________

10:00 am - 11:00 am EST, 16:00 - 17:00 CET, 19:00 - 20:00 GST, 20:30 - 21:30 IST
Room A | Hack3D Challenge Check-in  
Finalist teams can ask questions to the organizers. Closed event, open only to finalists and organizers. 
_____________________________________

11:30 am EST, 17:30 CET, 20:30 GST, 22:00 IST 
Auditorium | Welcome Address 

Opening remarks from the global conference director along with greetings from the global CSAW faculty directors. 

Ramesh Karri
,
CSAW Global Conference Director; Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Co-founder and co-chair, NYU Center for Cybersecurity, NYU Tandon School of Engineering 

Michail Maniatakos
,
Faculty Director CSAW MENA; Associate Professor of Computer Engineering; Program Head of Computer Engineering; Director of the Modern Microprocessors Architectures (MoMA) Laboratory, NYU Abu Dhabi
 
Sandeep Shukla,
Faculty Director CSAW India; Professor of Computer Science & Engineering; PI of Interdisciplinary Center for Cyber Security and Cyber Defense of Critical Infrastructure, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur. 

Edgar Ortiz Loyola Rivera Melo, Faculty Director CSAW Mexico; Director & Faculty member of the Department of Engineering Studies for Innovation, Universidad Iberoamericana Ciudad de México


David Hély, Faculty Director CSAW Europe; Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Head of Computer Engineering Support for System Security, LCIS Laboratory, Grenoble INP - Esisar


_________________________
____________

12:00 - 12:45 pm EST, 18:00 - 18:45 CET, 21:00 - 21:45 GST, 22:30 - 23:15 IST
Auditorium | Opening Keynote | Cybersecurity: Keeping the Lights On – Practical Challenges in Providing  Cybersecurity Services to Utilities

Dr. Martin Otto, Head of Cybersecurity Research Group, Siemens Technology

"Today, an individual equipped with just a laptop can bring about greater destruction than a conventional weapon”. This quote by Ian West, head of cybersecurity at NATO, shows today’s reality for industrial networks. An increased level of connectivity of what used to be air-gapped systems, with ever increasing features to remotely access and control critical infrastructure, coexists with systems that have a lifespan beyond 50 years. Recent well-known cybersecurity incidents like the Colonial Pipeline ransomware infection or the Oldsmar Water Treatment Facility attack, show again and again that industrial security is becoming critical to keeping critical infrastructure running, or, in the case of electrical utilities, to keeping the lights on. But what makes protection industrial environment so challenging? This presentation aims to provide insights and examples to help understand the core challenges, and how they differ from IT security.


_____________________________________

1:15 - 1:45 pm EST, 19:15 - 19:45 CET, 22:15 - 22:45 GST, 23:45 - 00:15 IST
Auditorium | IC Layout Security 

Johann Knechtel, Research Scientist with the Design for Excellence Lab, NYU Abu Dhabi

Securing modern electronics is an important but tough challenge that requires efforts all the way from software applications down to the hardware. For the design, manufacturing, and deployment of integrated circuits (ICs), there are numerous companies and partners involved within complex and world-wide supply chains; ICs run through many hands, and some of those may be acting with malicious intent. IC layout security is the idea of proactively hardening the IC design by security engineers, such that adversarial activities later on become hindered. This talk will provide an introduction on the topic, with background on hardware security and related challenges. We will outline some aspects to be handled for IC layout security and provide pointers for those interested in becoming involved in this timely topic.


_____________________________________

2:00 pm - 3:15 pm EST, 20:00 - 21:15 CET, 23:00 - 00:15 GST, 00:30 - 1:45 IST
Auditorium | Security Challenges in 5G Wireless and Beyond
 
Panel Moderators:
Siddharth Garg, Institute Associate Professor of ECE, NYU Tandon 
Sundeep Rangan, Professor of ECE and Associate Director, NYU Wireless, NYU Tandon

Panelists: 
Syed Rafiul Hussain, Assistant Professor, Computer Science and Engineering, Pennsylvania State University
Michael LiljenstamPrincipal Researcher, Ericsson Research
Vishwamitra Nandlall, VP, Technology Strategy & Ecosystems, Dell Technologies
Robinson Pino, Program Manager, U.S. Department of Energy
Christina Pöpper, Assistant Professor of Computer Science, NYU Abu Dhabi
James Wilson, Program Manager, Microsystems Technology Office (MTO), DARPA


Cellular wireless systems have become critical in every aspect of our lives. The next generation of networks (NextG, meaning 5G and beyond) are expected to enable a plethora of new services from connecting billions of embedded systems, enabling new massive data rate applications, and providing real-time cloud, data and AI connectivity everywhere.  To deliver these services, NextG networks are introducing powerful technologies including transmissions in the millimeter wave and THz frequencies; new spectrum sharing models; distributed core and radio access networks; mobile edge computing; network function virtualization; integration of pervasive sensing; and data collection for AI, to name a few. These technologies offer the potential for significantly enhanced capabilities, but they also expose the network to significant security risks including new opportunities for massive scale denial of service (DoS) attacks, man-in-the-middle (MitM) attacks, hardware and software Trojans, resource mis-usage, data breaches, and attacks launched from within the network or edge cloud itself.

To address these pressing security issues, this panel  brings experts from industry, academia and government to discuss the security of our vital future communications infrastructure.  What are the threats in NextG systems?  How do we detect and adapt to attacks? How do we isolate diverse services while maintaining efficient resource usage? How do we exploit data while maintaining privacy?  More generally, how do we build NextG networks that are both secure and deliver the incredible potential of connectivity.  The event will be jointly hosted by NYU WIRELESS and the NYU Center for Cyber Security.



_____________________________________

3:30 pm EST, 21:30 CET, 00:30 GST, 2:00 IST
Auditorium | An Empirical Cybersecurity Evaluation of GitHub Copilot's Code Contributions

Dr. Hammond Pearce, Post-doctoral Research Associate, NYU Center for Cybersecurity
 
There is burgeoning interest in designing AI-based systems to assist humans in designing computing systems, including tools that automatically generate computer code. The most notable of these comes in the form of the first self-described 'AI pair programmer', GitHub Copilot, which is a language model trained over open-source GitHub code.

However, code often contains bugs - and so, given the vast quantity of unvetted code that Copilot has processed, it is certain that the language model will have learned from exploitable, buggy code. This raises concerns on the security of Copilot's code contributions.

In this work, we systematically investigate the prevalence and conditions that can cause GitHub Copilot to recommend insecure code. To perform this analysis we prompt Copilot to generate code in scenarios relevant to high-risk CWEs (e.g. those from MITRE's "Top 25" list).

We explore Copilot's performance on three distinct code generation axes - examining how it performs given diversity of weaknesses, diversity of prompts, and diversity of domains. In total, we produce 89 different scenarios for Copilot to complete, producing 1,689 programs. Of these, we found approximately 40% to be vulnerable.

_____________________________________

5:00 pm EST, 23:00 CET, 2:00 GST, 3:30 IST
Auditorium | Cyber Journalism Award honoring Dina Temple-Raston

Please join us in honoring the winner of this year's Cyber Journalism Award -- Dina Temple-Raston -- with a discussion of her article, A 'Worst Nightmare' Cyberattack: The Untold Story Of The SolarWinds Hack (NPR, April 2021)


_____________________________________

6:00 - 7:00 pm EST, 00:00 CET, 3:00 GST, 4:30 IST
Meeting Room | Competition Meet Ups 
Opportunity for competition finalists to meet and chat with the competition organizers. 

Confirmed: 

Logic Locking Conquest: come say hello to the competition leads, Jitendra and Abdul at Table 1
Applied Research Competition: come say hello to the US-Canada competition co-chairs, Rasika, Aditya & Govind at Table 6
Embedded Security Challenge: come say hello to the University of Delaware competition leads at Table 8 

Thursday, 11 November 2021 

All Day 
Lobby & Industry Fair Room
Industry Fair 
Visit sponsor & partner booths to learn about jobs, internships, programs, and services. A schedule of when representatives will be available is here

Siemens Technology
DTCC
iC Consult
SecurityScorecard
Facebook
Carnegie Mellon University Information Network Institute
Amazon Web Services
Trail of Bits
Vector 35, makers of Binary Ninja
Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA)
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
RangeForce
F-Secure
Kroll LLC
SimSpace Corporation
Microsoft (Detection and Response Team)
_____________________________________

All Day 
Poster Room 1 |
Research Poster Previews 

Visit research competition posters on your own
_____________________________________

Scheduled in advance or On your Own
Lobby | Competition Run-through for Finalists

Finalists can have a walk-through of the virtual space and practice using platform functionality in advance of final presentations. Find Stef Daley on the platform and chat her for a tour! 
Finalists and organizers can also do run-throughs on their own schedules. 

Friday, 12 November 2021 

All Day
Lobby & Industry Fair Room | Industry Fair 
Visit sponsor & partner booths to learn about jobs, internships, programs, and services. A schedule of when representatives will be available is here

Siemens Technology
DTCC
iC Consult
SecurityScorecard
Facebook
Carnegie Mellon University Information Network Institute
Amazon Web Services
Trail of Bits
Vector 35, makers of Binary Ninja
Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA)
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
RangeForce
F-Secure
Kroll LLC
SimSpace Corporation
Microsoft (Detection and Response Team)
_____________________________________

1:00 - 2:30 am EST, 7:00 - 9:30 CET, 10:00 - 11:30 GST, 11:30 - 13:00 IST
Poster Room 1 | MENA Applied Research Competition Presentations
Private judging sessions for the top 6 papers. Attendees are welcome to visit poster carpets and chat with authors about their research in between judging sessions. 
_____________________________________

3:00 - 3:30 am EST, 9:00 - 9:30 CET, 12:00 - 12:30 GST, 13:30 - 14:00 IST
Auditorium | MENA Applied Research Competition Award Ceremony 
Ceremony to honor finalists and winners of the MENA Applied Research Competition
_____________________________________

3:00 - 5:00 am EST, 9:00 - 11:00 CET, 12:00 - 14:00 GST, 13:30 - 15:30 IST
Room A | Europe Embedded Security Challenge Presentations
Presentations from the finalist teams with audience Q&A. Open to all CSAW attendees. Access note: once you enter Room A, take a seat, and click "x" to join the Zoom Webinar session as an attendee. 
_____________________________________


4:30 - 6:20 am, 10:30 - 12:20 CET, 13:30 - 15:20 GST, 15:00 - 17:20 IST
Room B | India Embedded Security Challenge Presentations
Presentations from the finalist teams with audience Q&A. Open to all CSAW attendees. Access note: once you enter Room B, take a seat, and click "x" to join the Zoom Webinar session as an attendee. 
_____________________________________

5:15 - 7:00 am, 11:15 - 13:00 CET, 14:15 - 16:00 GST, 15:45 - 17:30 IST
Poster Room 2 | Europe Embedded Security Challenge Judge Q&A
Judge Q&A with finalist teams. Attendees are welcome to visit poster carpets and chat with teams about their research in between judging sessions. 
_____________________________________

6:30 - 7:20 am, 12:30 - 13:30 CET, 15:30 - 16:30 GST, 17:00 - 18:20 IST
Poster Room 2 | India Embedded Security Challenge Judge Q&A
Judge Q&A with finalist teams. Attendees are welcome to visit poster carpets and chat with teams about their research in between judging sessions. 
_____________________________________


7:30 - 9:00 am, 13:30 - 15:00 CET, 16:30 - 18:00 GST, 18:00 - 19:30 IST
Room B | India Embedded Security Challenge Live Challenge 
Teams should meet with organizers for an update, and then the challenge can be solved off-line. This is a closed event.
_____________________________________


8:00 - 9:30 am EST, 14:00 - 15:30 CET, 17:00 - 18:30 GST, 18:30 - 20:00 IST
Room A | Europe Embedded Security Challenge Live Challenge Teams should meet with organizers for an update, and then the challenge can be solved off-line. This is a closed event. 
_____________________________________


9:00 am - 5:00 pm EST, 8:00 - 16:00 CST
Off Platform | Mexico Cyber Security Challenge for High School
Forensics competition for high school students in Mexico, organized by Universidad Iberoamericana Mexico City. 
_____________________________________


9:30 - 11:30 am EST, 15:30 - 17:30 CET, 18:30 - 20:30 GST, 18:00 - 20:00 IST
Room C | US & MENA Embedded Security Challenge Presentations
Presentations from the finalist teams. Open to all CSAW attendees.
_____________________________________


10:00 - 11:05 am EST, 16:00 - 17:05 CET, 19:00 - 20:05 GST, 20:30 - 21:35 IST
Room D | Global Logic Locking Conquest Presentations 
Public presentations from the 6 finalist teams. Open to all CSAW attendees. Access note: once you enter Room D, take a seat, and click "x" to join the Zoom Webinar session as an attendee.  
_____________________________________


10:00 am - 12:00 pm EST, 16:00 - 18:00 CET, 19:00 - 21:00 GST, 20:30 - 22:30 IST
Room A | Global Hack 3D Presentations & Judge Q&A 
Public presentations from the 6 finalist teams and judge Q&A. Open to all CSAW attendees. Open to all CSAW attendees. Access note: once you enter Room A, take a seat, and click "x" to join the Zoom Webinar session as an attendee. 



_____________________________________


11:15 am - 12:05 pm EST, 17:15 - 18:05 CET, 20:15 - 21:05 GST, 21:45 - 22:35 IST
Poster Room 2 | Global Logic Locking Conquest Judge Q&A
Judge Q&A with finalist teams. Attendees are welcome to visit poster carpets and chat with teams about their research in between judging sessions. 
____________________________________

11:30 am EST, 17:30 CET, 20:30 GST, 22:00 IST
Auditorium | Europe ARC & ESC Award Ceremony 
Ceremony to honor finalists and winners of the Europe Applied Research Competition & the Embedded Security Challenge. 
_____________________________________

11:30 am - 1:00 pm EST, 17:30 - 19:00 CET, 20:30 - 22:00 GST, 22:00 - 23:30 IST
Poster Room 2 | US & MENA Embedded Security Challenge Judge Q&A
Judge Q&A with finalist teams. Attendees are welcome to visit poster carpets and chat with teams about their research in between judging sessions. 
_____________________________________


1:00 - 3:30 pm EST, 19:00 - 21:30 CET, 22:00 - 00:30 GST, 23:30 - 2:00 IST
Poster Room 1 | US-Canada Applied Research Competition Poster Presentations & Judge Q&A 
Private judging sessions for the top 10 papers. Attendees are welcome to visit poster carpets and chat with authors about their research in between judging sessions. 
_____________________________________


1:00 pm - 3:00 pm EST, 19:00 - 21:00 CET, 22:00 - 00:00 GST, 23:30 - 1:30 IST
Room C | US & MENA Embedded Security Challenge Live Challenge
Teams should meet with organizers for an update, and then the challenge can be solved off-line. This is a closed event. 
_____________________________________


1:00 - 3:45 pm EST, 19:00 - 21:45 CET, 22:00 - 00:45 GST, 23:30 - 2:15 IST
Room A | Final Policy Competition Presentations
Public presentations from the 5 finalist teams and judge Q&A. Open to all CSAW attendees. Access note: once you enter Room A, take a seat, and click "x" to join the Zoom Webinar session as an attendee. 
_____________________________________

2:00 pm EST, 20:00 CET, 23:00 GST 
Off Platform | MENA & Europe Capture the Flag Finals Start | Public Scoreboard
36-hour Capture the Flag Finals for finalist teams from MENA and Europe regions. 
_____________________________________

5:30 - 7:00 pm EST, 23:30 - 1:00 CET, 2:30 - 4:00 GST, 4:00 - 6:30 IST
Auditorium | US-Canada & Global Competition Award Ceremony 
Ceremony to honor finalists and winners of US-Canada Applied Research Competition, Policy Competition, Hack3D, Logic Locking, and US-Canada-MENA and India Embedded Security Challenge. 
_____________________________________

9:00 pm EST, 20:00 CST, 7:30 IST (Sat. 13th) 
Off Platform | India, Mexico, & US-Canada Capture The Flag Finals Start | Public Scoreboard
36-hour Capture the Flag Finals for finalist teams from India, Mexico, and US-Canada regions.
_____________________________________


 

Saturday, 13 November 2021 

All Day 
Off Platform |
Capture the Flag Finals continues | Public Scoreboard
Capture the Flag Finals for all finalist teams across all global regions. 
_____________________________________

Sunday, 14 November 2021 

2:00 am EST, 8:00 CET, 11:00 GST
Off Platform |  MENA & Europe CTF Finals Ends  | Public Scoreboard
Capture the Flag ends for finalist teams in MENA and Europe regions. 
_____________________________________


9:00 am EST, 8:00 CST, 19:30 IST
Off Platform | India, Mexico & US-Canada CTF Finals Ends | Public Scoreboard
Capture the Flag ends for finalist teams in India, Mexico & US-Canada regions. 
_____________________________________


9:30 am EST, 8:30 CST, 15:30 CET, 18:30 GST, 20:00 IST
Auditorium | CTF Award Ceremony 
Ceremony to honor finalists and winners of Capture the Flag across all regions.